One Precious Life in The Third Act

 

I am not a religious person

I don’t speak of God

But sense the order of things

The smallness or bigness of things

 

In meditation I hear myself say;

I don’t want to contribute to society

It’s a reaction

To the onslaught of opportunities flung in the face daily

Through the electric waves

That scream aimlessly from every wired port

 

Electricity is appealing

Particularly in storms

Last night the storm scared the pants off people cowering in their beds

And burned my friend’s folks house down

I stood naked in the brilliant night

Comfortable in the lightening

A sense that lightening makes me strong

This electricity

 

Not so much the metal messengers when

They carry shock waves of disaster, fear and demand

Lightening may equal disaster and fear as well

So perhaps the relevant word is demand

 

 Through the internet they beg; know this, learn this!

So often it would be better to learn what I have forgotten

Like shopping in my own closet

I think I need a new blouse

But here in the back is one I’ve forgotten

I don’t need new things

I will not bury myself under but

Pull from the treasure of my past

Piling on others things

Isn’t this the definition of gluttony?

One must be discerning to keep exhaustion at bay

 

I do not react to ‘contribute’ in the apparent way

And consider as I hear it

The small ways

In the beauty of the garden

The delicacy of the dinners

Helping students find their way

Placing the flower in the vase

The conversation with a friend

Efforts for those I love

And for those I do not

But who need me none the less

In which one cannot be other than in service

 

Mary Oliver’s question lingers;

What will you do with this one wild and precious life?

This is not the first or even the second act

I now know the curtain will go down

How many years are left in wholeness?

Where wild youth did not care

Or believe in mortality

Now wild stays under the skin

And less inclined to engage beyond;

I will not be bullied into the pen

 

Join this

Fix this

No and maybe

I see ways small and quiet

To offer this one precious life

To both of us

 

What is undone here?

Really, not all that much

I notice things are big and small

Endless urgencies press the swollen gates

I hold my ground in quiet ways

To save this precious life

 

Author’s note: Contribute is the word that came to me but it held more meaning than to help. I’m reworking my website and have been given suggestions on marketing that include a slew of social media sites. And I don’t want to have to contribute so to speak, to that life in order to create mine. And there is the weariness of being inundated daily by requests to sign on or up or give signatures, money etc. and no sooner do I acquiese than there is an additional request. It’s not just the endless information that comes at us but the time spent sifting through it. Where do the days go?

6 Comments

Filed under American culture, meditation, nature, new age enlightenment, poetry, politcal action, social action, social commentary, Uncategorized, yoga, yoga and religion, yoga practice, yoga teaching, yoga wisdom

6 responses to “One Precious Life in The Third Act

  1. Jill

    Thank you. Your post arrived like a reassurance, a balm, a pat on the shoulder. Holding ground is a quiet, wild work that lives in the smallness of things. Precious and always enough.

  2. All I can say is, “I hear ya.” Trying to stay on top of it all. Position myself like this or like that in the public eye. Post this, don’t post that. Write 9 gazillion blog posts about something or about nothing, who cares, just get them up. Etc. etc. etc. The more you do, there more there is to do and you have to wonder if, at the end of the day, any of it actually makes any difference? Could you not have just spent 12 hours doing something you actually wanted to to do and ended up with the same result? I grow increasingly weary of spinning my wheels.

  3. Sherry

    So very true, but ridding one’s self of the piles of accumulated stuff, activities, useless work and fixed mindset requires intention and taking so very many small steps.

    Worth the effort to recover the preciousness of our lives.

Leave a Reply

