Who Is Your Teacher?

       They Dare to Dream

photo by Alex Teuscher: Dare to Dream

Aligned with luminescence; a silhouette

Is she outcast, explorer, pilgrim or prophet?

Contemplates the universe or is it a backdrop for her glory?

If she is glorious is it because you in that cave say so?

Is she lit on stage for you sitting at her feet or does she turn away; earth’s curious creature at the foot of the sky?

She is both lit and beholder of light.

She is a figment of your imagining on the edge of your darkness or nature’s light, depending on your viewpoint

There is no accident that she wears this radiance as she reached for the stars to pull it close but notice how unconsciously it slips from her shoulders in the effortless swirl between teacher and seeker.

She does not care to own the light nor borrow it for deception either.

She trusts not that this light is in her but that she is in this light.

She knows the difference: You believe her.

See that she will meet you halfway always and

When it’s time to go, she goes alone.

Honor her for teaching you why and not holding you prisoner with how.

Honor him for crawling onto the crude floor of the cave with you instead of building a castle in the sky.

Honor her because she says when you look her way you are seeing the light behind her and really, she is just in the way.

Honor him when he moves aside so that all of it may light you.

8 Comments

Filed under new age enlightenment, Uncategorized, yoga

8 responses to “Who Is Your Teacher?

  1. Alex’s photo inspired this writing as currently there is a great deal on the web about the new charity of communal yoga. I saw his photo and saw a yoga teacher who was a silhouette for students to fill in. Opinion is so much of what makes the thing recognized as reality.

    High profile though perhaps average teachers are leading practices on stages for masses of consumers who are asked to pay for the priviledge of sitting anonymously in a field of thousands. This is supposed to be good for others, not present. It just seems like a mess to me.

  2. Beautiful, Hilary. Your poetic invitation requires that I release the linear and stop looking, in order to see. Both you and the photographer have gone straight to the wild, shamanic heart on this one. Deep bow.

    • David, There is nothing linear about anyone who writes “all problems are spiritual problems”. That might be the smartest thing I ever heard in the yoga forum. But I thank you for your bow to this post which came directly from that picture which arrived on a day that I had the yoga traveling circus on my mind. It was a no brainer.

  3. Wow! Remind me again why you’re not writing books?

    • Ah ha! I started a book 8 years ago. I excel at unfinished projects. It was a commentary on modern yoga that was ahead of its time, if I say so myself. Now that all is atwitter, so to speak, with commentary on modern yoga I feel that I missed my window. And really, when it comes to windows, all I want to do is stare out of them and daydream. But your comment lights a small fire under my ass and I may have to revisit that starter book if I can figure out where it is. Much gratitude to you.

      • I don’t know if the topic is an important as the style when it comes to good books. I’ve always thought that there are two types of writers: those who get by on content or subject matter (writers of romance novels and text books say for instance) and those who get by on style (like David Sedaris or Richard Brautigan, who’s stories are not really about anything in particular yet I devour their books like candy.) The writing on your blog is exceptional. It is the only yoga blog where I actually read the entire posts and don’t just automatically click “Like” to make myself feel better for only scanning one paragraph. One of the reasons I think your blog is interesting is because it’s only sort of about yoga and mostly about some other magic that goes on in your head. My point being that I think you are a style, as opposed to content, writer and because of this you can write about anything that you want because your gift is in the craft of writing as opposed to just being an encyclopedia of facts about a given topic.
        Thus concludes my argument for why Hilary should write a book. Make it a compilation of short stories, it’ll be great!

Leave a Reply

