Five Thousand and Two Species Ten Thousand and Four Eyes ~ Terrorism and Extinction

_MG_1953Hil_new year's 2011_cropped_websize

 

There have been five mass extinctions. This one is man-made. We are losing animals at a rate we haven’t seen since the dinosaurs died thanks to climate change and habitat change.

National Geographic photographer Joel Sartore looks into the eyes of animals and I’m spellbound by the expressions of the innocents. He is dedicated to dispelling ignorance in order to save species by his documentation. You cannot turn away when you are faced eye to eye with a soul that you unconsciously recognize.

animal eyes

I am watching the news. I am looking into the eyes of the young woman Nohemi Gonzalez my youngest son’s age of 23. She is extinct now, her life annihilated by a terrorist who did not know her. Political climates shift. Cultural habitats are threatened. Extinction is a purposeful vengeance of fear turned to hate. The fifth estate is dedicated to dispelling ignorance by broadcast. Look! Look at the life here and here and here!

nohemi gonzalez

 

I rarely rant against guns or war these days. I have given up hope that my fury will change a thing. I sign petitions and occasionally send checks but I’m not fooling myself. War and ruin seems to be a human condition not happenstance.

I recall a recent news story about a Catholic priest who dedicated himself to uncovering Jewish mass graves in Russia that were the previously undisclosed result of the holocaust. He spoke to villagers who were young witnesses to the carnage. When asked what his take-away was from his investigation he said that he discovered that people find satisfaction in watching the destruction of other people as long as those people and not they are the victims. I wondered in disbelief. Could it be that though we shed tears of empathy for strangers we stay glued to stories of devastation for that unconscious reason? Nothing could be more distasteful. I am fairly certain that this is not the case for all humanity but nevertheless it is a chilling thought.

I teach yoga and yoga is considered a vehicle for change toward enlightenment whether it be self awareness or greater awareness but you who’ve read my work for the last seven years know I don’t see it as a panacea for amity or world peace.

A process of internal reflection will often reflect what one perceives as truth and beauty through narrow lenses. We are so many islands in an elaborate chain.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under American culture, nature, new age enlightenment, politcal action, social action, social commentary, yoga, yoga and blogging, yoga and politics, Yoga Class, Yoga philosophy, yoga practice, yoga teaching, yoga wisdom

2 responses to “Five Thousand and Two Species Ten Thousand and Four Eyes ~ Terrorism and Extinction

  1. There are many millennia of collective karma to unwind. Keep the faith, my friend.

    • When considered in that light I can say that I do have faith. I see good or mostly good people. I see evolution and enlightenment. I am aware that it is two steps forward and one back.. a slow process. I have faith in myself and some folks I know well. I’m talking about the state of affairs right now.A changing human complex is in the making thanks to technology and world affairs. The chain of islands are part of a group but they are islands none the less to my mind.

Leave a Reply

