No Bagels for Nazis.

 

April 2023

I’ve been recovering from hip surgery.

On the couch.

Watching television.

The news.

 Nazis.

 Supreme Court Corruption.

Gay bashing.

Woke the stupidest word of the year thanks to a minority of overdosed Liberals preaching misplaced moral authority and devious Conservatives turning that word against them with a battle cry.

Here in Nashville majority Republican dictators who hold all legal authority desecrate Nashville’s legislature that allows no weapons in that stronghold but recommends them in the hands of anyone anywhere else in their self serving jurisdiction. 

A once iconic town is sold off to the highest bidders. Take our land, our peace, our public services, our roads and do what you want. Just give the power brokers a check.

Nashville’s not the only one.

 The private religious middle school a mile from my house was the latest mass murder scene that caught a nation’s eye.

Private schools were a way to sequester your child from the poor and the wrong race. They are the shame of an otherwise kindhearted city that puts no investment in the public’s education. Educating what might be viewed as the lesser class can only lead to problems down the road. Better to have a city of half wits and ambitionless drifters. They can be managed.

I used to write about these things. Unleash my grief and fury.

But now, ho hum.  Human rights are only for those who wield weapons against humanity. People vote for 2nd amendment homicidal maniacs and then weep over dead children. They say women’s rights are human rights and support forced birth and female enslavement.

Pro life means pro birth without regard for the life part. Pro life means the right to kill your fellow man with an assault weapon.

You don’t want your loved ones murdered, do not vote Republican but you have to vote Republican because the Democrats might give some money to poor people or let immigrants in or allow you to manage your own body or let children read uncensored books or see non conformists minding their own business in public.

When your kids are murdered remember you made your choice.

You don’t like Jews so avoid all things Jewish. Good luck with that. No bagel for you. No movies, television and no comedy for you but that’s O.K. You don’t understand comedy anyway. That requires some depth. Good comedy is too smart for you.

You don’t like Blacks so avoid music and sports just to start. I mean, that’s where you might unwittingly embrace that which you otherwise don’t understand or respect. Well, for you there is golf. Trumps’ game and his buddies, the Saudis.

The guys who sent planes into the Twin Towers.

Healing isn’t possible despite the ice, the drugs, the P.T.

I can’t even watch television without being alarmed by the mass of illness awaiting me because only people over 60 apparently watch TV. I have many ways to die and even Comedy Central doesn’t want me to get ahead of myself. Take this pill despite it killing you in more ways than your certain life threatening illness will, just more slowly.

So here I am on the precipice. No details necessary for you. You have your own cliff to navigate.

CBS Sunday morning is a respite. Some news but mostly human interest stories, mostly positive.

But today I’m told the planet is becoming an unlivable inferno.

Our garbage is piled miles high in New Jersey.

Another story of a beloved celebrity dealing with cancer.

Shark behavior is changing. They are not alone.

I shrivel in stark fear knowing that’s not helpful.  An expanded life force is a path to wholeness.

Before it’s time, my hip not yet happy, I’m in my garden, pulling weeds, talking to my trees cleaning up the ravages of the past winter that murdered the landscape in a freak freeze.

You change what you can, make joy where it’s possible, and you may not be able to change a mind or a world but I remind myself that there’s satisfaction in attempting self determination.

That might mean changing a Nazi heart by extending a bagel.

4 Comments

Filed under American culture, Healing, Hilary Lindsay yoga, nature, new age enlightenment, politcal action, social commentary, yoga and politics

4 responses to “No Bagels for Nazis.

  1. Let me be clear, I so love you!! And I so hear you…

  2. Stablehand, I feel that love and send it back. You are clear and I am gratified to know a fellow traveler. Thank you.

  3. Laura Gray

    Well said friend. Mine is not the hips but both shoulders-no surgery yet. I came back to help my parents after 20 years into the total shit show called Nashville. But I would still be that dancer hands down-I think of the good fortune of Ailey and Graham trainings. NYC was a welcome relief in the late 80’s, as was Miami in the 90’s. Where is a girl to live with culture, passion, arts and no Republicans dominating?

  4. Hi Laura,
    My husband and I left NYC in the late 80’s and spent a few years in LA before moving to Nashville 30 years ago. How did such a sweet and wonderfully weird city change into this pedal cab/corporate creep fest! Oh well, they call it progress. Our son lives in Cambridge Mass. Get yourself a few mill and you’ll be happy there. It answers your question. 🙂

Leave a comment